knittingjuju

Julie knits and writes and knits.

Plain Gray Finished


Plain Gray Finished

Originally uploaded by juju&jack

Finished! Some time ago, actually. But it was a painful finish, and I haven’t been ready to talk about it…

Okay some details… You may not remember my last post about this project, when I was thinking the arms were too tight, and I planned to rip the sweater back and the arms back to make them deeper… Right?

Well, I did. And reknit and finished it.

When I tried it on the man, we discovered that it just, just wasn’t working. I had to study and study lumply, pulling, strangly shaped thing for quite awhile as he modeled it in the blazing heat before I realized that the dimension that was all wrong was his shoulder width. Somehow I had measured his shoulders, and then did the math for not his actual 17-inch shoulders, but did the math for the 14-inch shoulders EZ says is average.  MY shoulders are 14 inches…  And I’m average, I guess.

Twice I knit the yoke of this sweater for a guy with 14-inch shoulders.

And it wasn’t until I ripped it back and knit it up a third time that it hit me: He maybe didn’t need deeper arms after all. The arms were tight because the shoulder dimension was off… So….

Yep. You got it. Ah, no I didn’t document all these sweater versions and ripping with more photographs, but I did tint the walls and ceilings with my language upon realizing my third set of mistakes.

And what I’d like you to know above all is that Zimmerman, if you CAN FOLLOW HER REALLY EASY DIRECTIONS, is and remains a genius. This sweater is lovely. It stretches all every which way, and this guy is just dying for the snow to start falling.

The Marr Haven? Soft and rough at the same time. A beautiful tweedy effect, and it really holds up well to ripping… Doh!

This whole long, 50-inch-chest sweater took just shy of 6 skeins. A very fast, very pleasurable knit. Very borrowable sweater…

7 Comments»

  Kent wrote @

Uhh huh!

I knew it!

My EZ saddle shoulder aran cardigan has that in the instructions as well “…for an average adult 14-15″ should be fine…if you unsure, make it smaller” WHAT? “for it’s knitting and will stretch” WHAT?

Anyway!

I measured and re-measured my shoulder width a million times and came up with between 16.5 & 17″ for my shoulder width as well.

The finished / revised sweater looks wonderful & comfortable too. Love the color!

-K

  Lynn wrote @

You have earned a place in the knitterly yarn shop in the sky.

Great perseverance!

  Marsha wrote @

It looks absolutely wonderful!

  beth wrote @

Oooo! How lovely! My DH is also a “plain gray” kind of a fellow, so it’s wonderful to see how very “unplain” (that yarn! such texture!) plain gray can be. You’ve inspired me yet again (I’m choosing to blithely ignore the sleeve-y tale of woe). And I’m sure the model is a very grateful recipent, at least, he looks quite serene in his new sweater despite the rather unseasonable weather.

  jacqui wrote @

Lovely plain grey! I am all admiration for your perseverance. Something bright next??

  thuy wrote @

your transition decrease(s) between the vertical and horizontal lines of the saddle is perfectly seamless. well done over all!

  Nicole wrote @

Question for you..I’m making the EZ saddled shoulder sweater and am running into issues with the shoulder width. Here’s the scenario: i started with 197 stitches for the body, I put 16 of the sleeve and 16 (8% of body stitches per sleeve) of the body stitches on holders and joined (leaving me with 58 stitches joined to body per sleeve). I have markers placed so that I don’t decrease the sleeves at this point, leaving me with 165 stitches because of the underarms on the sleeves. However, this brings me down to only the 14inch shoulder width which is going to be too small. Where did I go wrong?? My shoulder measurement should be around 19 inches for it to fit the person.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 510 other followers

