knittingjuju

Julie knits and writes and knits.

Pinkie Blankie written pattern

Sweethoney on Ravelry nudged me on to write out the Pinkie Blankie pattern for knitters who don’t love charts (So many of you! I didn’t know!)…

Here is our pattern. I think we’ve got it right now…

After bottom border rows (which are all garter stitch, as many as you like to balance the size of the blanket you make. I make 12 rows (6 ridges) at top and bottom of blanket to match the 6 garter stitches on the side borders, which are included in the pattern below):

1 (RS) K6, *{K1, YO, K3, P2tog, K1, P2tog, K3, YO},*, K1, K6
2 (WS) K6, * (P), *, K6
3 (RS) K6, * {K2, Yo, K2, P2tog, K1, P2tog, K2,YO,K1},*, K1, K6
4 (WS) K6, *(P), *, K6
5 (RS) K6,* {K3, YO, K1, P2tog, K1, P2tog, K1,YO,K2},*, K1, K6
6 (WS) K6, *(P), *, K6
7 (RS) K6, *{K4, YO, ssk, K1, K2tog, YO, K3}, *, K1, K6
8 (WS) K6, * (P), *, K6
9 (RS) K6, *{K5, YO, sk2p, YO, K4}, *, K1, K6
10 (WS) K6, * (P), *, K6
11 (RS) K1, P2tog, K3, YO, *{K1, YO, K3, P2tog, K1, P2tog, K3, YO},*, K1, YO, K3, P2tog, K1, K6
12 (WS) K6, * (P), *, K6
13 (RS) K6, K1, p2tog, K2, YO, * {K3, Yo, K2, P2tog, K1, P2tog, K2,YO},*, K3, YO, K2, P2tog, K1, K6
14 (WS) K6, *(P), *, K6
15 (RS) K6, K1, p2tog, K1, YO, * {K5, YO, K1, P2tog, K1, P2tog, K1,YO,},*, K5, YO, K1, P2tog, K1, K6
16 (WS) K6, *(P), *, K6
17 (RS) K6, K2tog, YO *{K7, YO, ssk, K1, K2tog, YO}, *, K7, YO, ssk, K1, K6
18 (WS) K6, *(P), *, K6
19 (RS) K6, K2tog, YO, *{K9, YO, sk2p, YO}, *, K9, YO, ssk, K6
20 (WS) K6, *(P), *, K6

Repeat these twenty rows for the pattern, then knit garter stitch to match the top border.  Thanks, Sweethoney!

5 Comments»

  BethT wrote @

Question. I am not a good chart reader so I found this helpful, but when I got to the end of the first row, I did the last yarn over – and saw that i had 7 stitches left, not 6. Should I actually be purling 7 stitches at the end of that first row, or knitting one after the last yarn over, then purling? Help! (please :)

  jujuridl wrote @

Hey Beth,

Well I apologize. I am not much of a written pattern person, and though sweethoney asked me three times to check it before I posted it, I just didn’t. (Knitting from written lines just makes me cross-eyed. I don’t know how you guys do it!)
Bad Juju!
You found the missing knit-stitches at the ends of the rows! Thanks for that!
I just fixed those above, and wrote out the next 10, which do knit up a tad differently. I’m knitting from it now, and it seems to be working just fine. Let me know if you have any other troubles!

Happy Knitting!

  Heather wrote @

Minor edit: Beginning of Row 11 there’s no K6 for the border. Its so early it didn’t click and I got to the end of the row with 6 extra stitches and face palmed :)

  Heather wrote @

row 17 should be K6 K1 *K2TOG YO K7 YO SSK K1* K6 repeats between stars. The K1 before the repeats was missed

  Jeannie wrote @

so we cast on how many????


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 512 other followers

