knittingjuju

Julie knits and writes and knits.

Pinkie Blankie In Progress

(Pudgy beaglish guy added for Scale)

Download Julie’s Pinkie Blankie pattern. (If clicking the link doesn’t work for you, try right-clicking and “saving link as” to put the file somewhere on your machine where you will find it again.)

Okay, the story behind Pinkie Blankie is this…

I had a security blanket when I was a little girl. Its name was pinkie blankie. It was a wool bit of a blanket, with satin edges. And I hung onto it for a very long time. A Very. Long. Time. When I was 8, and Pinkie Blankie wasn’t very pink any more, and we were preparing to move overseas, Pinkie Blankie… disappeared.

The story told in my family is that Richard Jason, the hateful and hated bully who lived next door, stole Pinkie Blankie and threw it into Glen Creek. It floated away, probably to the ocean. Anyway, it was gone forever.

Have I mentioned that my mother was a great fictionalist? A fictionalizer? A fabulist? Someone who used fictional devices to effect change in her family? She was a gifted liar. Always for good reason. For instance, there is the portrait of a Chinese mandarin, which hung in every house we ever lived in, who, mom claimed, was our great-great-great-great grandfather. She said later she lied so that we would never be prejudiced. Not bad, eh? It is unnerving, however, to know that most of our family history may be fabricated. We have no idea, actually, who we are, or what is true. But we are comfortable with mystery.

It wasn’t until I began, a few weeks ago, to think about a security blanket for a friend of mine, and stumbled over the large stash of pink Tahki I’ve been sitting on (which reminded me of this amazing gift of knitting)and put these things together, that I even remembered my Pinkie Blankie. And then began to wonder about the Richard Jason incident. How did he get into our house, upstairs to my room, steal my blankie, remove himself from the house, head a block away up the road to the creek, and throw it in, all without anyone noticing?

And it wasn’t his style. He was capable of terrible things, much worse, in fact, but he enjoyed torturing each of us in person. He wanted to read the humiliation in our eyes. This secret swiping of the blanket just didn’t add up. And that my mother delivered the news? How would she be the one to know? As somebody’s mother, she would be the last to know. The very last.

And the timing… just as we were going through a great purge in preparation for a move overseas… and my age. And… well… I think I’ve been blaming the wrong person for Pinkie Blankie’s demise for, oh, 40 years.

Mom’s gone. Pinkie Blankie’s gone. I will never know the truth. But I can raise Pinkie Blankie from the ashes. Maybe several, given how much of this yarn I have in my silly-big stash. The first will go to a friend who needs it even more than I do. The second may go straight into the creek I now live on, to float out into Lake Michigan, where my mother’s ashes rest. I’d like to let her know I’m on to her, finally.

And here are some photos of work in progress on the Pinkie Blankie projects.

Here is the security blanket for my buddy, half knit in Tahki Baby. This one will follow the chart exactly, stitch for stitch.

And here, for my sis, is the beginning of a scarf, following the chart pattern, except that I will add many, many repeats, to make it scarf length. Thinking this will take 4 skeins of Koigu KPPPM. It will block out to be quite a bit longer and wider. What you see is just about one skein knitted up.

Once this pattern is in your brain — and it goes there easily — this pattern is a lovely, brainless bit of craft. Add the intrigue of the Koigu color changes, and you have some pretty entertaining knitting, friends. Will show these again when they’re done. The sister scarf is overdue, and the blankie, due presently.

Coming next, a peek at the Twin Tomtens, which are being boxed up now. They make me very happy.

12 Comments»

  tina wrote @

I laughed………… and I cried! I completely LOVE your pinkie blankie resurrection! We are after all the ones that are completely in charge of what makes and doesn’t make it into our lives!!!! My daughter had a blanket that she adored. Her father, my now ex thank heavens, just went into her room one night and threw it away. I did not know of his heinous actions. She was devastated especially when he told her that he threw it away. The B)#E**## didn’t even make up a lie, which while not very nice, does at least give some sort of something that allows us to believe that the perpetrator of CRAP didn’t do such an ugly thing. So. My daughter now 22 still remembers this and misses her blankie. I now much older have divorced his happy butt and knows that his day is a’comin honey!

GET KNITTIN’!

  cosymakes wrote @

great story! and a secret – my benjamin still sleeps with his binkie🙂

  Rhonda wrote @

Love the story -love the blankie – but, I’m here about the dog ;O) Is it a Brittany Spaniel? I know you say beaglish guy – but he looks like my Brit – except for the face, because I can’t SEE his face LOL…the pudge, the orange ears and spots, even the dainty little “I wish I were a cat” pose screams Brittany Spaniel! :O)

  Dani wrote @

I just read the story about the chinese mandarin picture to my other half, who laughed and responded with “Thats something your mother would do!” He knew her well😉 She would have, no doubt!

I loved the story of the pinkie blankie, and in reverence to the original, I have downloaded your pattern. If I survive my current deadline knit (which I need to get back to and shouldn’t have snuck away to go blog surfing) I will add this beauty to the queue. It may even jump a few previous entries, since I think I have yarn in stash that would really do it justice. Thanks for sharing it!

  Ewe-niss wrote @

I had a chenille bedspread that was my blanket. I loved loved loved it. I always loved the smell of it after it came out of the wash. One day I found it in the trash. So I tore it into 1 foot squares. When the section lost it’s ‘smell’ after a few days – I would throw it on the wash pile and grab another clean square. Eventually my mom just gave up – she had to now wash all the little pieces of the blanket, instead of a big blanket.🙂

I also had a Bobby Bear that mysteriously disappeared. My mom said it was just strings when he went on his trip. To this day, I save my children’s loved bears – no matter how little fur/fabric they have. They sit on shelves of honor. The older adult child can decide what happens to their friend. It isn’t my decision.

  kara wrote @

Hey, how big is your Pinkie Blanket when blocked?🙂

  jujuridl wrote @

Thanks for all your comments, folkses. I love your stories.

Kara, I don’t quite know yet, because I haven’t blocked it yet. But I’m PLANNING for it to block out at 44 x 55 inches. I have a feeling it may want to go bigger. I will change the pattern when I know for sure…smile.

  Peggy wrote @

What a wonderful story. The big pink yarn reminds me of a handknit pink sweater my mom used to wear. She always looked very cozy and huggable in it. I guess all little girls are attracted to snuggly pink stuff.

Love your work!

  Carla wrote @

Your Pinkie Blankie is beautiful! If only there were a shade of lipstick called Pinkie Blankie…

  Sue wrote @

Oh Yum….it looks fabulous and oh so inviting to wrap up into. Your gift will give much warmth…besides the warmth of the blankie, it will warm the heart of the receiver many times over. You are such a dear. Thank you for sharing your story…your pattern…and so much more. Congrats on finishing blankie.

  Pinkie Blockie « knittingjuju wrote @

[…] Pinkie Blankie (get the story behind the pattern here) is all done and blocked and ready to go to its new home. And I finished up the pattern (if […]

  Whiz… « because I’m the Mum, that’s why wrote @

[…] Pinkie Blankie is finished – it’s a massive, thick blankie and took only 5 days to finish (and considering I […]


Leave a Reply

