knittingjuju

Julie knits and writes and knits.

Don’t I seem calm?

I do, don’t I? Don’t I? So then you could never guess, seeing me calmly packing, calmly deciding on projects and notions, calmly remembering my underwear and my toothbrush, that…

I AM GOING TO SCHOOLHOUSE PRESS!!!

Yes I am. Headed to Mecca. To the source. To the epicenter and the circle of knitting magic and love and to the place EZ chose, herself, to set up camp, and to meet the ethereal Meg Swansen, and hope like crazy my husband doesn’t run away with her (because I can’t stop him from becoming smitten if I can’t stop myself, right? Wouldn’t be fair.), and to try so, so hard not to ruin our chances of a healthy retirement with overspending on great yarn, and to get HELP with the little vest, and…. just to soak it all up.

Tomorrow we start the drive, stopping along the way to gather IKEA goodies and to visit my old house in Sun Prairie, Wisconsin.

Well. I can’t believe it. The time has come.  Here I go.

So calmly.

5 Comments»

  rivercitystl wrote @

Wow! Have a great time! I hope to take the same trip one day!

  Marsha wrote @

Have a wonderful trip! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  rams wrote @

No. Way.

My grandmother was born in Sun Prairie, Wisconsin.

  pat w. wrote @

I was looking at your pattern photos of “Pinkie Blankie” and I notice you appearred to have it pinned to a thick mattress pad on a bed. Did you wash the blanket and pin it to the mattress pad to size it after it was knitted? If so can you tell me a little about how you did it ? I have never washed anthing I have made ( mostly scarves) and I think if I did it might make things look a bit better even though there are no mistakes in my work. Thanks for any advice!!

  jujuridl wrote @

Hi Pat. You’ve got it exactly right. The process is called “blocking,” and there’s a great description of the process at knitty.com, here: http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEwinter02/FEATdiyknitter.html. I block EVERYTHING, including scarves, mittens, and hats, because it always evens out the work, and locks in the shape I want for it, not to mention washing out all the sweat, and tears from both the knitting process, and any stuff left in the yarn from the mfr. But blocking is especially important with lace projects, because it “opens” the lace, bringing out its lacy qualities, providing the drape that you love and want in your lacework. Some people like Pinkie Blankie in its just-knitted, springy state, but I really like it blocked out, giving it the drape of a true lace piece.


Leave a Reply

