knittingjuju

Julie knits and writes and knits.

Yes, you’re right, I’ve been lagging

Not in my knitting, mind you. I’ve been knitting. Not in a finishing mode much lately. However, I’m destined for a knitting sleepover with buddies at the end of the week, and have finishing on my mind for a couple of projects there. Depends on the ratio of silliness:knitting. We’ll see.

Meantime, though, babies have been happening, and garter stitch very much in the air, thanks to garter mojo oozing from northern Wisconsin and Brooklyn. Smacking me upside my head from both directions.

So a couple of these:

BSJ in handspun for baby Michael

BSJ in handspun for baby Michael

BSJ for the next baby

BSJ for the next baby

And that led me quite naturally to get started on that Meg Swansen vest that Jack claimed from the sweater room at Schoolhouse Press.

I can’t tell you how many sweater patterns and vest patterns I’ve dangled in front of that man, how many discussions about what woolen garments he will and will not wear, but nothing could quite prepare me for his falling in love with this:

Megs Vest on Blurry Jack

Meg's Vest on Blurry Jack

Megs Vest Back

Meg's Vest Back

Now, of course… he’s not a frog guy. And he does like his more sedate colors, and so here’s where we are so far….

Megs Vest in Jacks Colors

Meg's Vest in Jack's Colors

It’s a kissing cousin to the BSJ, a friendly little knit, starting with the cast on that runs down the fronts of the vest from armpit-height around the back, mitering up the front of the vests until you complete the fronts to the side of the body, then knitting back and forth the way you would a Zimmerman saddle to knit up the back to the armpit. Then you work strictly on the back until you get to the back of the neck, work the fronts down from the back of the neck, working some cute short rows to make those nice cuppy shoulders, and join back at the front with a three-needle bind off. Icord for about four years around the entire outside. We will not include frogs.

He sees this as the perfect around-the-house deep winter warmer upper. No sleeves is the part that makes him happy. And there’s a definite Robert Bly kind of pull my old hippie has to this garment. No doubt about that.

Knitting it up in two plies of the magical Unspun Icelandic that Schoolhouse Press sells. This stuff is really wonderful to work with. I’m dying to finish it so I can tackle some single-ply projects. I can see myself getting a lot done in this wool.

The pattern? It’s scratched on notes from my class in Marshfield, and not mine to share anyway. But if you’re interested, all you really have to do is whine enough to the folks at Schoolhouse, and I’m sure a pattern will surface somehow.

2 Comments»

  rams wrote @

You’re on the right track with Bly. Also closer to home. Go drag the 1976 THE THIRD COAST anthology off the shelf and turn to Donald Hall (p.64) My first thought when I saw the photo.

Here’s hoping “silliness” is code for drinking.

Are you going to Allegan? Shopping is open Friday, one of the great unpublicized truths.

  jujuridl wrote @

Yes… DRINKING, and all that could ensue with fiber, needles, women who have been of age for a WHILE, and booze and a private beach.

And then shopping could happen on either Friday afternoon/eve, or Saturday morning, depending on the whim and will of the hive mind.

I have known about the Friday thing since taking workshops there a few years back. A good time to snag hand-spun, which can disappear pretty quickly….


Leave a Reply

